Father’s Day Project!

So I’m always kindof hesitant to make something crafty for the men in my life, wondering if it will be manly enough. I did dive into making a really-mini mini for my boyfriend for Valentines Day (click here to see it!) and not only does he keep it on the night stand on his side of the bed, he is always picking it up and flipping through it, saying it is the coolest thing anyone’s ever done for him!!

So for all you ladies out there that think men won’t appreciate the hard work, dedication, time and emotion that we pour into a craft for him, thing again!! I’ve found that they love it and do understand the effort that a good home-made gift takes.

Here are some pictures of the Father’s Day gift I made for my dad. To recreate something like this (which can be made to any theme and is such a great gift!!)  I just purchased a multi-pack of Artist’s Loft canvases (the cheap ones) from Michaels and painted all the edges black with acrylic paint, on both sides of the canvas.

You can get a couple hinges from your local hardware store to connect the side so that the canvases open like a book (with the “back” of the canvases on the insides).

For those of you that have seen my crafting style, you know I’m not the most meticulous crafter, so I cut out strips by eyeballing the width and used a ruler to measure pieces big enough for the outside. After that, I just embellished with Cricut cut-outs and made photo tags to slip in the inside. The frame can be stood up on a table or closed like a book, depending on how you/they want it displayed!

Using the Ornamental Iron cartridge, I cut out one of the gates (twice in the polka dot paper and twice in black) and staggered them to get a more dimensional effect. The paper is a DCWV stack (will get back to you on the name…). I used a fiscars postage stamp punch and the Gypsy font (that comes on the cricut gypsy) for the lettering. The “Live in the Moment” vellum quote was punched with a Martha Stewart border punch that I love. If you have any other questions or comments, I’d love to hear from ya!

 

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Project!

What do you think?!? Leave a Reply!

