Winter Wonderland Wall-Hanging

I made this as a class to teach at a local scrap store. A while back, I had bought a stack of chipboard and the deep-cut blade for my Cricut from an online store. I had it in my head that I was going to make my own chipboard minis… but that didn’t happen. I tried every setting on my Cricut to try and get it to cut through the chipboard: changing blade depths, multi-cut function, changing pressure… nothing worked. So, I used a piece of the un-cuttable 12×12 chipboard as a background for this wall hanging! This paper is from the same Recollections stack that I made the Christmas Cookie Recipe Book from, and I used my Cricut to cut out “Winter Wonderland.” I think it turned out as a cute (and very cheap) home décor item for the holidays!

winter wonderland hanging

Here’s to being thrifty and resourceful! Using leftovers for an adorably scrappy creation makes the most unique projects!

How to: Taking a piece of 12×12″ chipboard, I inked the edges. I used a Martha Stewart Punch around the page (iron gate) to create the base layer, then cut “winter wonderland” out with my gypsy and cricut, using the storybook cartridge. The snowflakes are also a Martha punch, which I sprayed with spray adhesive and sprinkled glitter over, then attached with pop dots for dimension. the santa charm is cut out of one of the pages in the recollections stack, matted on a circle of white cardstock. I rolled the circle in glue and then glitter for the glittered border effect. Using my xyron to make stickers out of the letters, I matted them on 2 layers of coordinating paper and adhered to base, along with a coordinating layered photo mat.

4 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland Wall-Hanging

What do you think?!? Leave a Reply!

