PinWin! Deer String Art

Woot! I actually made some Christmas gifts this year. And even better? I’m SUPER pleased with how they turned out!

The first is a “Reindeer” String Art piece – though I am using it (as a silhouette) of an elk. This is for my dad for Christmas! Who I haven’t seen yet… flying out tomorrow. So, having received the WONDERFUL INCREDIBLE AMAZING AWESOME Cricut Air for Christmas (thanks Mom!) I was able to use Design Space to create this gift.

10644875_794881070401_1394129725847102675_n

I am using the Reindeer from the Teresa Collins December 25th Cartridge (which I bought last year) and the “Frame” from Calligraphy Collection.

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 1.45.21 PM

I used the “slice” feature and a square from “insert shapes” to cut this frame in half (GREAT tutorial on this HERE by Melody Lane, thanks Melody!! ), placed it over the reindeer, and sliced again to separate just the head. I then clicked “contour” with the deer highlighted, to hide the rest of his body since we only need the head.

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 1.52.22 PM

After that, it was just resize (to as big as the 12×12 mat would let me) and print! I taped it to a wood plaque I’d picked up at michaels and stained, nailed in nails all the way around (a tedious process) and wrapped the string around the borders before doing the middle. Sorry I don’t have pics of that part — I lost my phone temporarily! But it was really super easy – just a bit of bobbing and weaving between the nails. The deer I chose to use has a lot more tines on his antlers than some versions of this particular project that I’ve seen, so it took longer but the payoff is totally worth it. The big thing is don’t try to make it look perfect. Strings should cross, overlap, etc. It’s not supposed to be symmetrical, just go for it!

Guys I promise, this is a somewhat time consuming process but SO easy!! If you have any questions, just ask! I’m here for you 😀

 

Happy Holidays friends!

 

 

What do you think?!? Leave a Reply!

